Thread

Index > Scribe > Bayesian Filter
Author/Date Bayesian Filter
Markman
16/09/2003 8:54am
I'm new to i.Scribe so be nice to me :)
I have been using POPFile for Bayesian filtering for some while now and am very satisfied with the result. My question to you i.Scribe users is: "Can i.Scribes Bayesian Filter compete with POPFile?" If it can it would be great. I hate using more programs than I have to and i.Scribe seems sofar to be a great, and also important neat, email client.
Cheers
fReT
16/09/2003 9:06am
Scribe's implementation is very new and will not compete with POPFile, which is a mature product with many people working on it.

My implementation has just one (very busy) person working on it and it's likely to always lag behind whatever else is out there.

However in my own experience my implemenation catches over 80% of spam that I get, and well thats most of it. Which cuts down my spam problem enormously... it's all good, not perfect, just good.

Some days it's great other days it lets some through. It's better than nothing IMHO. And it will get better over time as I improve it etc.
Markman
16/09/2003 9:13am
Thank you for your reply.
I will keep both i.Scribe and POPFile running, but I will be sure to check yours and other users comments regarding Bayesian filters on your webpage.
Once again thanks for a great email client!
Markman
17/09/2003 6:18am
Hello again,