Thread

Index > Scribe > Update feature
Author/Date Update feature
Cyco
14/05/2002 9:05am
Just about all applications out there start to make their own little update features, so one of these would be neat to have in i.Scribe, having it check every startup in the background.

Could be made very light, I have extensive experience doing these type of functions, and the hard part is really remembering to keep the compare version number updated.

It could just fetch version number online, compare and if newer are online it displays a dialog box with changelog info and/or a link to the i.Scribe download page.

This is often useful when nasty bugs slips in (like in 1.65).

The super version of a feature like this would be having it autoevolve, but that's alittle overkill, even though i'd love to see it.
Stefan
16/05/2002 3:13am
I think this is an excellent idea, especially since it's my inbox that's at stake I'm extra careful to keep myself up to date.
fReT
16/05/2002 10:46am
What do you mean be auto-evolve?
Toby
16/05/2002 12:47pm
If one takes one's inbox seriously, wouldn't it be better to _not_ have it auto-update? Matthew's good, but even he makes mistakes. One would think that having iScribe/InScribe automatically download a 1.65-like problem wouldn't be a Good Thing®. Personally, I prefer it manually. Then I can test it on an unimportant set of folders and not hose my real email if there's the occasional bug that crops up.
Cyco
16/05/2002 8:12pm
With autoevolve I mean :
It checks in the background every time you start i.scribe, check for mail or something like that if you have the latest version, if you don't it let's you know that it's downloading the update for you, and perhaps what's new in it (if critical etc). Then when download is finished it would restart and replace itself with the newer copy.